Center for Teaching and Learning

UT Academy of Distinguished Teachers

In 2012, The University of Texas System Academy of Distinguished Teachers was established to recognize outstanding educators across The University of Texas System academic institutions. The Academy recognizes educators who have demonstrated leadership in education and are committed to improving learning across the UT System. Members of the Academy serve as the System-level advisory and advocacy group dedicated to fostering classroom innovation, promoting interdisciplinary educational perspectives, and catalyzing the sharing of best practices across campuses in the UT System.


Dr. Alex R. Piquero is Ashbel Smith Professor of Criminology and Associate Dean for Graduate Programs in the School of Economic, Political, and Policy Sciences at the University of Texas at Dallas, Faculty Associate with the Center for U.S.-Latin America Initiatives at the University of Texas at Dallas, Honors Affiliate in the Hobson Wildenthal Honors College at the University of Texas at Dallas, Adjunct Professor in the Griffith Criminology Institute Griffith University (Brisbane, Australia), Life Course Centre Fellow, University of Queensland, Fellow of the University of Cincinnati Corrections Institute, Faculty Affiliate, Center for Violence and Injury Prevention George Warren Brown School of Social Work Washington University in St. Louis, and was Co-Editor of the Journal of Quantitative Criminology from 2008 to 2013 and currently serves as Editor of Justice Evaluation Journal


Dr. Karen Huxtable teaches educational psychology, social psychology, and social & personality development. She also serves as the associate director for the Center for Teaching and Learning. In that role, she provides consultation and creates teaching-related professional development opportunities for doctoral students and faculty. Dr. Huxtable-Jester also serves as chair of UT Dallas’ academic senate’s committee on effective teaching, which works to promote teaching excellence across the campus. She has been awarded the Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Award for the University of Texas System, as well as the Seniors’ Choice and Excellence in Teaching awards for the School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences. Dr. Huxtable-Jester earned a bachelor’s degree from the University of Massachusetts at Amherst and her master’s and doctoral degrees from the Ohio State University. In 2017, Dr. Huxtable-Jester was inducted into the UT System Academy of Distinguished Teachers.


Dr. John Sibert is an associate professor of chemistry in the School of Natural Sciences and Mathematics at UT Dallas. He is a recipient of the President’s Teaching Excellence Award and has also been inducted into the inaugural class of The University of Texas System Academy of Distinguished Teachers.